The Last 2K16 Election Post I Will Write

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything in this space… I was doing a decent job keeping up with posting, and then I started going through a bit of a rough patch.

But I’m back, and I’ve been doing a lot of thinking this week. A lot has happened, namely the United States has elected a new president. There’s a LOT of emotions surrounding this election, and rightly so.

I’d be lying if I said I was happy with the results. It’s just hard for me to fathom that this country chose to elect someone so full of hatred and discrimination against other people. It’s scary. And it’s sad.

And I was angry for a while, really, really angry, but I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching on the subject.

The results of the election are what they are. The country has spoken. And we can take that fact and be angry, or we can take that fact and start to move forward.

I’ve been trying to figure out who I am, and who I want to be in all of this.

I don’t want to be angry and filled with hatred. I’ve been there before, and it’s exhausting.

The current state of the US feels so divided, and so hostile (from both sides of the spectrum), and after reading political post after political post after political post, I’m just tired.

Everyone is entitled to react and do as they will do.

For me, I need to take a step back and focus on who I am in all of the turmoil. I will not be reduced to a ball of hatred and rage.

Yes, I believe Donald Trump is racist, and homophobic, and an ignorant person when it comes to many, many issues. I think he is a criminal.

But I am not going to let him reduce me to his level. I am not going to resort to anger, or hate.

I will continue to speak my beliefs, and I will continue to stand up for what I believe is right.

I will take the next four years one year, one month, one day at a time, and I will be authentic and true to myself.

Because sometimes in this crazy world, that’s all we can do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment